The Bad Guy

A friend of mine told me once he realized his internal suffering was ‘helped’ by letting his  super-ego, a destructive inner critic, dominate his inner landscape. This critical voice loved to point out every error, lapse in judgement or faux pas that my friend ever made.  My friend calls it “The Bad Guy” or B.G.

My friend said that when he beats up on himself, it’s really the Bad Guy voice that is running the show.  His B.G. voice says, “You made a mistake. You are at fault. You should feel crummy. You always mess up. Feel bad about yourself. Blah blah blah blah.”

Until he creates a distance from the negative thinking, my friend found that he couldn’t question the truthfulness of Bad Guy’s voice.  But once he was not triggered by this stream of negativity, he became aware that B.G. doesn’t give objective or constructive information. The critical persona is only capable of judgements. B.G. has no investment in whether we feel bad or want to improve ourselves.

 

I was thinking yesterday about my friend telling me this story, and thinking “My god, that is so right!” How many times have I gone down the path of feeling bad for past mistakes, without looking at my own Bad Guy sending these messages. Feeling bad happens and I step kick towards doom and gloom overwhelmed with feeling and unaware of choices.

Someone might be disappointed, or displeased with me… or worse yet– I imagine they won’t love me. As an adult I can logically figure out a solution, but a younger me didn’t have that skill set. This dread-filled feeling filled my psyche. I would be in a panic– feeling like I was going to die– before any facts or objective information regarding the situation could be investigated. I believe it is called being “limbic”– separated from the reasoning of  higher functioning cerebral cortex. It may have been in my best interests when I was young to imagine the worst case scenario to prepare for the unexpected. However, there isn’t an ‘off’ button. Bad Guy can rule, if I am not vigilant.

Terrance, my husband, has been a meditator for about thirty years. He reminds me that there is nowhere to go “fix” these feelings when they arise. I hate that. No, Terrance says, try to sit still. Breathe. Just get close to the negativity, without joining B.G.’s rap. Nothing bad will happen, he says.

But, there are icky feelings, the hard and lumpy feelings, the panicky stuff, and general awkwardness. I don’t want to get close to any of this. I feel sick to my stomach. I feel heavy and dense and my breathing feels constricted. The truth is I am flooded with resistance. I don’t see how this will help. I’d like to take a toke and haze out on Netflix instead.

Since Terrance and I have been together, we have had many conversations about meditation. I am not against it, but I feel like I got the meditation mug, ashtray, and bumper sticker in the sixties and seventies. I work at being mindful through other modalities: drumming, Sufi dance, TaKeTiNa, yoga, and free-form dance and sometimes, meditation.

 

When we talk about meditation, I find that I am defending my right to work with mindfulness/awareness practices the way I do. Sometimes, I am just resisting the lure of the cushion –just as I avoid feeling my feeling the energy that is Bad Guy. I feel like a cat in a paper bag, fighting to get out. Or is it in? Doesn’t seem to matter because I am not going anywhere.

So just for today I will try it.  I will sit down and be quiet. Here goes. Sitting. Breathing.

 

Uh-oh.  My mind is buzzing. My stomach feels upset.

What is it? It’s an icky feeling.

 

What color is it? What shape? Puce green and the size of a football located bright around my heart center.

 

This is ridiculous. Inner critic.

 

Breathe. Breathe in, breathe out. Let it go.

 

I just remembered: there is a phone call that I have to make.  Restless. I want to get up from my seat. I will stay for now and call later.

 

Stay. Sit. Breathe again.

 

What am I feeling? Where am I? I just nodded off for a minute.  I noticed I am thinking about the conversation I had with my girlfriend yesterday.  Come back.

 

Breathe. In and out. In and out.

 

And then I notice that the football is slightly smaller. There is more relaxation in my gut. The edges of yuckiness don’t feel as pervasive.

 

Off again–day dreaming about seeing a movie.

 

The Bad Guy is definitely in the room. I am not breathing fully, I am aware of his critical vibe. Familiar triggering thoughts begin trickling in. The memory of a negative conversation and guilty feeling arise simultaneously. I said, they said.

 

Back to the breath again.

 

Hmmm. What is this bad feeling? Is it really true? Will it matter if I sit here? Breathe.

 

I notice the tension around my ribcage beginning to relax.

 

This time perhaps I can let a provocative thought go by, instead of following it.

 

Oops.

Thinking, thinking.

 

I feel my butt on the cushion. I straighten up again.

 

The story is wafting around but I am not denying or embellishing it, just sitting. Breathing.

My panic is starting to ease. My breathing becomes fuller. My attention is on the inhalation and exhalation. I relax a little more. I can feel the animal-ness of myself breathing.

 

Then another thought: remembering breathing in yoga class. Return to the room, the breath, my body. Slumping. Straighten again. Cramp in my calf.

 

Breathing.

 

Distractions continue. Nanosecond shifts–this and that. I drift away from following my breath. Moments of being embodied for a half-second or more.

I notice that I am feeling neutral. Not triggered and not vacant.

 

All of a sudden, the bell rings. Time is up.

 

Nothing bad has happened. I do feel more expansive, especially in my gut and my ribs. I open my eyes and stretch.  I notice that I still feel like I have to “do’ something, but the urgency is gone. There really is nothing to do, except to notice. I can breathe. Hmm.

 
And I notice this: the Bad Guy is still here, but he is drinking a mai-tai and chillaxing at the pool. He has nothing to say, and he raises an eyebrow and lifts his glass in a salute.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patsy Onatah
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 13:03:30

    Zorina – you just described word for word how my practice is and what I am learning from the guy in my life (also a meditator of many years.) Sometimes, we just need those few moments for there to be a difference. For me, the meditation along with our other forms of mindfulness help keep BG at bay. Keep on keepin’ on girl!

    Reply

  2. barbwolf26
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 13:57:23

    I love this one…anyone, everyone can relate!

    Love, Barbara

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

  3. Deborah
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 19:33:36

    Liked that a lot. Even my Bad Guy, who is generally an extremely harsh critic concurs.

    Reply

  4. Pat
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 03:08:55

    I too love this. Message clear, held my interest, and what an entertaining for the reader experience the shift. Even the way you wrote from the critic’s fear.. words and sentences crammed together. Tension. then as you go into the meditation there’s space between words and sentences. One can feel the space and easing
    between thoughts, between breaths. Ahhhh. What a great example of the incessant critic contrasted with the sweet choice of self soothing.

    Reply

  5. Wendy
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 16:14:17

    We all have that voice. It’s nice to know!! Thank you for being so honest it helps us get real!! I choose to change that voice!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

